Bookish · University

Books I Brought With Me to University [2017]

For my first year at university, in 2016, I brought almost every single book that I owned, whether they were read or unread. I felt at the time that I couldn’t move out of home without them, but of course I realised (too late) that it was far too many books and was actually kind of a stupid move for me to make. Just think about it, when you move out of home (in a university/college situation) you’re essentially moving from an entire house that you live in, even though you may have kept to your own bedroom, you’re now moving into usually quite a small room, with furniture provided for you, and often restrictions on what you can bring yourself.

So obviously I wasn’t going to be able to bring my own bookshelves and stack all of my books neatly in my room. Although I did have a large room, one that was roughly the same size as my own room at home, the difficulties that would’ve come with getting shelves in my room was not worth it. Although my hall of residence (the common term for a dormitory in New Zealand) is quite lenient on the different furniture you can bring, it would have been a hassle when I had to move out at the end of the year. Knowing that bookshelves would have been a hassle, I probably should have known that two full (and quite large) boxes of books was a hassle too! Not to mention all of the books that I bought over the year.

So naturally, this year I brought significantly less books with me. Including the books that I needed for my English Literature class, I brought with me SIXTEEN books, which still may sound like a lot to the average non-bookish person, but obviously to you guys reading that is such a small amount. I don’t remember how many books I brought with me last year, but sixteen must be less than half of what I brought with me. Two full boxes are a lot of books! Not including the ones I needed for class, I only brought TEN books from my shelf for me to read for fun! That would’ve been disastrous if I hadn’t fallen into a reading slump for the better part of the first half of the year.

So, without further ado, here are the books that I brought with me to university in 2017:

  • Books for English Literature:
    • Emma by Jane Austen
    • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
    • The Voyage Out by Virginia Woolf
    • Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
    • Waverley by Sir Walter Scott
    • The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
  • Books I brought for me!
    • Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth: I attempted to start this book in the middle of a slump, however, I feel like the size of the book and the poor reviews I’ve heard of the book made it difficult to really get into. But I will try again at a later date.
    • The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon: I have read this! I blazed through it during a slump in an attempt to pull myself out of it. I was semi-successful in doing that. I enjoyed the book, and will be posting a review at a later date so keep your eyes peeled!
    • Summer Days & Summer Nights by various authors, edited by Stephanie Perkins: I’m in love with Stephanie Perkins, but alas, I am not in love with short stories. I’ve gotten through a few of them, but I just have difficulty with short stories. Maybe I can’t handle it when it’s so cold here.
    • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: I haven’t read The Hunger Games, I know, I know. It was one of the first books that I bought LAST YEAR. I just haven’t gotten around to it. But I will. I swear.
    • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken: Unfortunately I haven’t gotten around to this one yet, but I am very excited to get into it when I have time.
    • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson: If you know me, and if you’ve seen my posts on Instagram about this book, you will know that I have most definitely read it and this book is my entire life. All I need to do now is actually write a review for it. Maybe I should read it again. I just love it so much!!!!
    • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff: I’ve heard such good things about it, and when I got a gift card for Christmas I knew that I was going to get this! I’m very excited to read it when I get the chance.
    • On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher: I have read this! You can read my spoiler free review here.
    • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater: This is what I’m currently reading and I’m finding it so interesting, funny and easy to read. So far I think I have an aesthetic crush on Gansey and the apartment they all live in? I will be posting a review of this book when I finish it!
    • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Illustrated Edition by JK Rowling: Yes, of course I have read Harry Potter! I finally read them all last year and it was probably the highlight of my book year in 2016 apart from I’ll Give You the Sun. I brought it with me because it’s super pretty and it was my birthday present from my boyfriend, but I’ll probably be taking it home to display it on my shelves at home again in a couple of weeks.

So those are all of the books I brought with me (let’s not talk about the ones I’ve bought since then)! I haven’t read a lot of them, but because my English Literature classes this next half of the year don’t have any texts to read, I’m planning on getting a lot of reading done. Let me know if you’ve read any of these, or if any of them are on your TBR!

Leave a Reply

